🔒 Permission settings and confidentiality on iOS

Have more questions? Submit a request

Summary

Don’t worry, FAIRTIQ uses personal data exclusively for detecting your trips and finding the right tickets. We don't sell your personal data. 

Learn about the necessary permission settings on iOS for FAIRTIQ, location access, data usage, and battery consumption.

  This article is exclusively for iPhone/iOS users. For Android users, please refer to this page.

Which permission settings should I enable on iOS?
  • Location preferences: For your trip to be detected correctly, FAIRTIQ needs the permission to access your location set to "always." Find out more here.
  • Motion & Fitness: Set to On, so that FAIRTIQ can detect footsteps and remind you to stop the trip when you have reached your destination.
  • Notifications: Set to On, so that FAIRTIQ can send you check-out reminders as well as a price summary of your trip.
  • Background app refresh: Set to On, so that FAIRTIQ can continue tracking your location if your phone is restarted.
  • Mobile data: Set to On, so that your mobile phone can communicate with FAIRTIQ during the trip, to guarantee a valid ticket.
  • WIFI and Bluetooth: We recommend activating these to improve the accuracy of your location data.
The easiest way to make sure all these permissions are enabled is to re-install the FAIRTIQ app and authorize all accesses.
Will FAIRTIQ still work if I use location preference "While Using the App", "Ask Next Time" or "Never"?

No, FAIRTIQ will not work.

The "always" permission for the location is an unfortunate requirement because it's not what we do or intend to do. However, it is a due requirement for the FAIRTIQ app to automatically restart in case it shuts down on its own (e.g., empty battery, restart of the phone, new app version installed during the trip, app crash, etc.). It happens during 6% of the trips.

So, when does FAIRTIQ access my location?

FAIRTIQ only tracks your location when the app is visible on the screen or when a trip is ongoing.

Yes, but my phone told me that FAIRTIQ accessed my background location x times in the last 3 days?

This is probably because you made a trip with FAIRTIQ, and the app was not visible on the screen at all times. Don’t worry; the app did not try to find out where you were on other occasions. 

How do I check this?
  1. Open the settings of your iPhone > Privacy > Location Services.
  2. Find FAIRTIQ in the list and look at the symbols.
    • A purple arrow indicates that the app has recently accessed the location and can take up to a minute to clear.
    • A grey arrow indicates that the app has used your location in the last 24 hours.
  3. You will never see a purple arrow next to FAIRTIQ when you're not using it. If you don't use the app for 24 hours, you won't even see a grey arrow.
What happens to my personal data?

We do not sell your personal data. At FAIRTIQ, we care a lot about data privacy and comply with national and international standards such as the GDPR.
Our promise to you on our website
An overview of our Privacy Policy
A blog article about data privacy written by our CTO

This setting uses a lot of battery. What can I do?

FAIRTIQ uses about 3% of battery per hour during a trip. The battery empties much faster if other apps/features are used alongside FAIRTIQ.